Amazon is one of the biggest e-commerce sites and they are only getting bigger. Amazon Sponsored Ads is a relatively new advertising platform and it might not be on your radar yet. But that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t take advantage of it! If you want to start selling your products on Amazon, this guide will show you how to get sponsored ads on Amazon, what Amazon Sponsored Ads is, how to optimize an ad campaign and more.
What are Amazon Sponsored Ads?
Amazon Sponsored Ads is a relatively new advertising platform. Sponsored Ads are the ads you see at the top of your Amazon search page and they offer sellers an opportunity to get their products in front of potential customers. You can choose to advertise on Amazon during a specific category or you can even target shoppers based on their interests or past shopping behaviour.
How to Advertise on Amazon
Amazon is one of the most trafficked websites in the world, but you still need to advertise your products if you want to sell them. When browsing on Amazon, it’s easy to get lost in the millions and millions of products. That’s where Amazon Sponsored Ads come in!
Amazon Sponsored Ads are managed by Amazon and they can be used to increase the visibility of your product listing and drive more sales. They appear at the top of search results pages and they typically include a title, an image, a short description, and a price. With these ads, you can capture customer clicks that would otherwise go to Amazon search results pages because these sponsored ads will appear higher up on Google search results pages.
On top of that, Amazon Sponsored Ads allows you to bid for keywords or even pay for clicks to your product listings. The cost-per-click is determined by how much competition there is for the keyword or phrase you choose (competition meaning how many other advertisers are bidding for that same keyword).
One thing to note: You don’t have direct control over bids or click prices; those are set by Amazon based on their algorithm. But if you want more control over pricing, check out Facebook Ads!
How to Optimize Your Amazon Sponsored Ads
There are a lot of factors that go into optimizing an ad campaign on Amazon. One of the most important is keyword research. You need to know what keywords your target audience is typing into Amazon’s search bar.
If you have a product or service that’s related to health and wellness, then researching keywords such as “weight loss” and “diet” would be helpful in your campaign.
Next, you will want to figure out which sponsored ad type works best for you. If you don’t know which type of ad would work best for your business, think about the products or services you’re selling and pick a type that aligns with those items. For example, if you sell personal care items (ie- shampoo) then Banner Ads might be a good option for you. If your product or service falls into the clothing category (ie- sweaters) then Sponsored Product Ads may be perfect for your needs.
Types of Amazon Sponsored Ads You Should Know About
Amazon sponsored ads are a great way to grow your business. Amazon has a variety of different ad options and it can be hard to know which one is best for you. Luckily, we’ve done the research for you! Here are 4 types of Amazon sponsored ads you should know about.
1) Sponsored Product Ads: Sponsored product ads advertise a specific product that matches your search terms – perfect if you have a new product!
2) Headline Search Ads: If you want to target customers who are looking for something very specific, headline search ads are advantageous because they will show up on the first page of search results, making them more likely to be clicked on.
3) Sponsored Brands Ads: With this type of sponsored ad, your brand will appear in the “Sponsored Brands” section on relevant searches, giving potential customers the opportunity to learn more about your brand and consider purchasing from it.
4) Product Display Ads: Product display ads let you highlight multiple products on an ad instead of just one product like other sponsored ads.
Sponsored Product Ads
Sponsored product ads advertise a specific product that matches your search terms – perfect if you have a new product!
There are many options for sponsored ads on Amazon, and they all have their own advantages. Sponsored products are perfect if you have a new or unpopular product. They also work well if you want to promote specific items without running an ad campaign. With this type of sponsored ad, your product will appear in the “Sponsored Products” section on relevant searches, giving potential customers the opportunity to learn more about your brand and consider purchasing from it.
Product display ads let you list your products in search results for no cost at all. But keep in mind these ads will not be shown on Amazon results pages unless someone clicks on them. So with these types of sponsored ads, you’re relying on people finding your ad themselves rather than being able to target them specifically. If you do choose this option, be sure to use keywords that relate to the content of your ad and make it stand out in search results.
Headline Search Ads
Headline search ads are advantageous because they will show up on the first page of search results, making them more likely to be clicked on.
Imagine you’re trying to buy a new shirt. You have a couple of different options from different stores. How do you decide which store to buy from? If your favourite store advertises their shirt at the top of your search results, then you’re more likely to click on that ad and buy the shirt. With headline search ads, your brand is given an opportunity to stand out in front of potential customers and make an impression. We all know how important first impressions are!
Sponsored Brands Ads
Sponsored brands ads are one of the most popular types of Amazon sponsored ads. With these ads, your brand will appear in the “Sponsored Brands” section on relevant searches. This gives potential customers the opportunity to learn more about your brand and consider purchasing from it.
Here are a few tips for getting started with sponsored brands ads:
- Target Your Audience: When you create an ad, you’ll be asked to input information about your target customers, like their location and demographic. This will allow you to specifically target your audience and make sure that they’re seeing your ads.
- Invest in Relevant Sponsorships: Genuine sponsorships can help build up trust in your brand and increase customer loyalty. Consider investing time and money into sponsoring a local team or event that relates to what you offer in order to connect with more potential customers!
- Track Your Success: Once you’ve created a successful campaign, track how well it is performing by checking out the Reports tab on Amazon Marketing Services. With there, you can see how many impressions your sponsored ad has received, clicks on the ad, click through rates and other important metrics.
Product Display Ads
Product display ads are a type of sponsored ad on Amazon that lets you promote your products on relevant searches. When someone searches for a product you sell, they will see one of your product display ads in the search results.
This is beneficial because when people are looking for products to purchase, they are more likely to click on an ad that advertises the exact product or service they want. You won’t have to worry about them clicking on your ad and not clicking through your website because it doesn’t match their needs.
The cost per click (CPC) varies depending on how well you rank among other advertisers. The higher your CPC, the more likely someone will click on it and purchase from you!
There are two types of costs: lifetime and monthly. Lifetime costs are one-time fees for a specific campaign period. Monthly fees are recurring charges for a set duration of time. Choose whichever best fits your business goals!
Setting up an ad campaign
Setting up an Amazon Sponsored Ad campaign is easy. You just create your ad and make sure it’s targeting the right audience. The first step is to select a product, decide on a budget and write a title for your ad. This will be your sponsored product.
Next, you need to choose what you targeting for the ads. But before you do that, you need to build an audience first! So head over to Amazon and find some products related to yours or find customers who have bought your product in the past. You can also target people based on which sites they’ve visited or what they searched for on Google.
Once you’ve built your audience, go back to the ad set-up page and enter those details: age range, gender, location and interests. Now you can start running campaigns and see how they perform!
Creating a list of keywords and negative keywords
Before you create an Amazon Sponsored Ad, there are a few things to do first. Set up your campaign with the list of keywords and negative keywords that you would like your ad to come up with when it is searched. It is important that you make a list of keywords because it will be what triggers your ad to pop up in searches. When you start typing in a keyword, the sponsored ad should come up.
The reason for negative keywords is for people who are searching for something different from what you are selling. You don’t want anyone who doesn’t fit your criteria to see your ads, so make sure you include negative keywords too!
Choosing the right bidding option
Amazon Sponsored Ad campaigns are a great way to promote your product or service. But before you start a campaign, you’ll need to choose the right bidding option. There are two options for bids on Amazon Sponsored Ads: Cost per Click (CPC) and Cost per Thousand Impressions (CPM).
Cost Per Click is when you pay for every click on your ad. You will be charged $0.01 per click by default, but this price can vary depending on your Bid Strategy.
Cost Per Thousand Impressions is when you pay for every 1,000 impressions of your ad. Your ad must reach at least 2,000 impressions in order to receive payment from the advertiser. You will be charged $0.0025 per thousand impressions by default and this price can vary depending on your Bid Strategy
For example, if you have an average CPC bid of $0.04 and that ad reaches 2,112 impressions and it receives 12 clicks, then you will earn $(0.04*12)=$0.48
Choosing the right targeting
Amazon Sponsored Ads are a relatively new advertising platform, so it might not be on their radar yet. The key to success with any advertisement is targeting the right audience and in this case, Amazon has a lot of information about its customers’ demographics, interests and shopping habits.
For example, you can target your campaign to people who live in your zip code or Amazon Prime members. These are both very specific audiences that you could either focus on one or combine for a more nuanced approach. There are also different ways you can reach these audiences through search terms, keywords and product categories.
How do you know which one to choose? This will depend on what your brand is trying to accomplish with the ad campaign. If you’re trying to reach new customers or want to promote a product line extension, search terms will work really well. If you want to create awareness for your brand or build up your email list then keywords would be better suited. And if you’re looking to increase purchases of your products on Amazon then product categories would work best.